LOCAL volunteers were honoured last week at a glittering ceremony in Saltcoats Town Hall.

The Ayrshire Community Trust (TACT) organised a Volunteer ‘Oscars’ Awards Ceremony, which took place on Tuesday, June 4 and it was an evening of celebration to recognise and reward the tremendous work of volunteers here in North Ayrshire.

There were over 30 volunteers and volunteer teams receiving certificates on the night. The six main category winners were: Long Standing Volunteer – Rose Ramsey from Witness Service, Support to the Community Volunteer – James McLellan from Input, Heritage and Environment Volunteer – 25 Group Royal Observer Corps Association, Health and Wellbeing Volunteer – Norma Nimmo from North Ayrshire Carers Centre, Young Volunteer – James Trott from Park Run, Volunteer Team – Garnock Valley Men’s Shed Trustees.

This year a new award has originated from the commitment of one TACT’s own Board Members, Mr Ken Buchanan.

A spokesperson said: “As we enter our 20th year we wanted to show recognition to the support that Ken has shown to us. We are very pleased to say that the winner of the Ken Buchanan Award is our very own office volunteer Thea Fletcher.”

The Trust would like to thank the sponsors, Dennis Clancy & Sons, DSM, United Reform Church - Beith and North Ayrshire Council for their tireless efforts. They would also like to say a very special thank you to the top table who kindly attended to present the awards.

They were: Elaine Young – Assistant Director of Public Health/Head of Health Improvement, Provost Clarkson, Steven Corrigan – Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, Councillor Anthea Dickson, Dr Audrey Sutton – Head of Service Economy and Communities, Michael Nellany – Chair of The Ayrshire Community Trust, Colin Wilson – Trustee of TACT.