The candidates have been confirmed for the Dalry and West Kilbride By-Election, to be held on Thursday, August 12.

The North Ayrshire Council seat has become vacant following the resignation of Councillor Joy Brahim. Following the 4pm deadline (Friday, July 9) to submit nominations, the candidates have now been confirmed. They are:

· Robyn Graham - Scottish National Party (SNP);

· Ruby Kirkwood - Scottish Liberal Democrats;

· James McDaid - Socialist Labour Party;

· Valerie Reid - Scottish Labour Party;

· Ronnie Stalker - Scottish Conservative and Unionist;

· John Willis - Independent.

Voting gets under way at 7am on August 12 and polling places will remain open until 10pm.

The count, which is carried out electronically for local elections, will be held the following day, Friday, August 13. Residents have until midnight on Monday, July 26, to register in time to vote in the by-election. The deadline for postal applications is 5pm on Tuesday, July 27. Further details at