TWO North Ayrshire Indian restaurants received gongs at a national culinary award ceremony last week.

Saltcoats’ Motherland Spice won the Outstanding Indian Restaurant of the Year award at the Scottish Curry Awards, while Dalry’s Zains Curry House won Takeaway of the Year South West.

The Scottish Curry Awards 2021 are a celebration of local businesses, where winners are a true reflection of quality and customer service, as they are chosen by members of the general public.

The awards recognised the hard work, determination, impeccable service and efforts of the best Scottish curry establishment and professionals.

Reflecting on their award, Madhav Bhandari of Motherland Spice told the Herald: “We are one number in all of Scotland - outstanding Indian restaurant all the way out in Saltcoats.

“It’s a big achievement for us and local people.

“We are on the map now as people don’t even know where Saltcoats is.

“I just focus on the customer and make sure they have the proper service, and I’m trying to give jobs to local people as well as young people.

“It’s hard, but I’m very happy with what we have achieved as it’s a big achievement.

“People have been supportive of me for the last 10years, and I’d like to show them that I’m doing something for them.

“I’d like to show pride to

the local people.”

Khurum Jabbar, of Zains Curry House, added: “It was just a great feeling, it was an amazing feeling to have achieved it.

“It wouldn’t be possible without out all of my team, my chef, my dad, they’re the main reason for this award, we’ve got a great team.

“We can’t forget about the customers, it wouldn’t be possible without the customers.”

Irfan Younis, CEO of Oceanic Consulting, who helped host the event in Glasgow’s Double Tree by Hilton, said: “We are honoured and delighted to have such great finalists and winners representing the English curry industry and enhancing its reputation nationally and internationally.

“We were very happy to welcome the guests and celebrate with them. Congratulations to all finalists and winners.”