YOUNG farmers from across Ayrshire kicked off 2023 in style with their annual ‘member of the year’ competition and dance last Saturday night.

Members of the six Young Farmers Clubs from across North, East and South Ayrshire gathered at Drongan Primary School for the eagerly-awaited contest and the equally eagerly anticipated shindig that followed, all of it organised by the hard-working committee from the Ayrshire Association of Young Farmers Clubs (AAYFC).

In the running for the prizes this year were the following members:

Ayr: Stuart Limond (chairman), Hannah Grater (committee member).

Beith: Laura Blyth (secretary), Kerr Wilson (chairman).

Crossroads: Craig Baird (chairman), Scott Anderson (vice-chairman).

Kilmaurs: Ross Montgomerie (chairman), Emma Shanks (secretary).

Mauchline: Alistair Middleton (secretary), Gavin Gilliland (chairman).

New Cumnock: Alice Donaldson (secretary).

The judges chose Scott Anderson as the winner, Emma Shanks as the runner-up and Craig Baird and Laura Blyth as joint winners of the third place prize.

A spokesperson for AAYFC said afterwards: “Scott will now go on to represent the district at the national final at competitions weekend in Carlisle.

“We wish you the best of luck, Scott!”