THE MP for North Ayrshire and Arran has confirmed she will fight for a fourth term representing the area at Westminster.

Patricia Gibson's announcement comes after several SNP MPs - most recently Dr Philippa Whitford, who represents the neighbouring constituency of Central Ayrshire - said they would not be seeking re-election the next time the UK goes to the polls.

So far, eight SNP MPs have confirmed they do not intend to contest the next General Election - due to be held no later than January 2025, but widely expected to take place some time next year.

So far Ian Blackford, Peter Grant, Angela Crawley, Douglas Chapman, Stewart Hosie, Mhairi Black and John McNally have all announced that they will not be running for re-election - with Dr Whitford following suit earlier this week.

Ms Gibson said: "It is my intention to stand for re-election at the next General Election and continue to work hard representing the people and communities of North Ayrshire and Arran."

Ms Gibson has represented the area at Westminster since the 2015 election, when she defeated sitting Labour MP Katy Clark - having lost out in her first attempt to win the seat five years earlier.

That 2015 election saw Ms Gibson win more than half the total votes cast in the area - 53.2 per cent - with a majority of 13,573 over Ms Clark, who is now a Labour MSP for the West Scotland region.

Two years later Ms Gibson was re-elected with a much-reduced majority of 3,633 after capturing 38.9 per cent of all the votes cast.

At the last election, in December 2019, she retained the seat with a majority of 8,521 - with the 23,376 votes cast for her representing 48.5 per cent of the total.