Ardagh Group West of Scotland Cup Second Round


KILBIRNIE LADESIDE 1 (Kilbirnie won 4-2 on penalties)

LADESIDE battled back from behind to edge out the Championship leaders in a shootout.

There was an early warning from Ladeside. Mark Burbidge found space on the edge of the penalty area inside the opening minute and his shot beat McLellan but clipped wide.

Conor McVey's effort was deflected wide before Peter McGill's cross found its way to Reon Juskowiak, who shot wide in 12 minutes.

Glencairn were awarded a free-kick on the edge of the penalty area in 22 minutes. Kris Gebbie drilled the ball through the defensive wall and it flashed past goalkeeper Joe Wilton.

In 29 minutes Ladeside were awarded a penalty as McLellan's kick out was headed back towards goal and Ryan Hynes was upended by the goalie. However Mick O'Byrne shot wide. David Ramsay's corner was met by the head of O'Byrne, and the ball was looping into the net until McLellan palmed it away.

Simeon's corner in 82 minutes picked out Kerr, but his downwards header was saved on the goal-line by Wilton. The importance of that save became even clear a minute later as Glencairn's defence tried to shepherd the ball out of play but a cross was met by David Gray, who forced the ball home.

In the shootout, Del Esplin fired Glencairn's first effort into the net, and Ramsay matched that. Gary Smith, blazed high and wide to give Ladeside the first advantage, which Juskowiak emphasised by scoring. Kris Gebbie's penalty was saved by Wilton, followed by a good penalty by Kyle Rafferty. Simeon kept Glencairn alive by sending Wilton the wrong way, but goal hero Gray slotted home for victory.

KILBIRNIE LADESIDE: Wilton; Mitchell, Juskowiak, Hughes (McGuiness), O'Byrne, McVey, Burbidge, Rafferty, Hynes (Gray), McGill (Finlay), Ramsay.