THERE were celebrations all round as North Ayrshire Ice Hockey Club (NAIHC) hosted their end of season awards.

They gathered in the Lauriston Hotel in Ardrossan, where three different age groups, along with some young stars of the future, were all celebrated after another amazing season.

It was the club’s first proper awards night in three years, due to Covid restrictions, and the Stars (U14s), Predators (U16s) and Devils (U19s) all had a great time reminiscing on their 2021/22 season.

Club chairman Scott Campbell welcomed all the players and their families and said: “It’s great to be having our awards night for the first time in three years. Covid meant a lot of players at many clubs gave up the sport, but gladly, most of our stay and all the teams have had great seasons, particularly the under 14s who finished the season as league champions.”

It was a tough road back for the players, who had all been forced to take time away from the sport throughout the pandemic.

First up for awards were some under 12 players from the Penguins who unfortunately, hadn’t been able to play in the league due to low numbers last season, these players were invited to train and play up with U14s throughout the season.

READ MORE: Ardeer Thistle FC hit with fine and points deduction for fielding ineligible player

Winners were: Most Improved Forward - Ashton Lomas, Most Improved Defenceman - David Turner, Spirit of Hockey - Liam Roy.

The under-14 Stars winners were: Top goalscorer and Top assist to goals - Lennon Deeney, Most Improved Forward - William Greenlees, Most Improved Defence - Oliver Turner, Spirit of Hockey - Eithan Rankin, Parents Player - Rocco Murray, Players Player and Coaches Player - Caiden MacColl.

Under-16 Predators winners:Under 16s winners were: Top goalscorer - Flynn Massie, Most Assists to goals - Emma Lamberton, Most Improved Player - Matthew Evans, Valenti Trophy - Matthew Evans, Parents Player and Players Player - Caiden MacColl, Coaches Player - Flynn Massie.

Under 19 Devils winners: Top goalscorer and Top assist to goals - Dylan Murray, Most Improved Player - Lewis McCrindle, Spirit of Hockey - Cameron Murray, Parents Player - Jack Neil, Players Player - Luca DeSimone & Jack Neil, Coaches Player - Jack Neil

Special award winners were: Between the pipes - Brad Ruxton, John Woods Memorial Trophy - Hazel Murray.